Who pays on first dates?

Im pretty new to the dating game.. My and my past boyfriend were together for 5 years and we would always split the bill or I'd pay. All my friends would ask t he doesn't pay for me and how it's expected for the guy to pay. Anyway for some reason I'm very awkward bout guys paying but I want to start dating again and pretty much I just wanna know are the guys expected to pay?

0|0
11|19

Most Helpful Guy

• I'm from a very old fashioned southern family. That being said, in the beginning the guy pays... Always period end of story. It's the chivalrous thing to do.

Further a long in the relationship, especially at 5 years, I mean at that point your financials are almost kind of tied together, things can be split.

I still prefer to pay for dates in long term relationships, but sometimes it's nice if she offers to pay for coffee or something. All too often girls come to expect to be paid for which I don't think is right. In offering to pay every now and then it reassures us that it is appreciated that we do pay and not just expected.

Sometimes what I like to do if the girl has a decent sense of humor. A lot of the time females will start reaching for their purse to make it look like they intend to pay, but expecting the guy to say something. I will just sit there and watch her reach for her purse and laugh awkwardly as she freezes upon me not saying anything.

Either way he should pay in my opinion.

1|1
    0|0

What Guys Said 18