Forgive a first offense?

The guy I've been talking to was supposed to come to dinner tonight with some friends and I. Last night we (me and him) were talking about how great it's going to be. Well he never showed up, I called because I figured he was stuck at work, his phone went straight to VM, I notice that sometimes his phone dies at work. So I wasn't able to get in contact with him. There have been a lot of things going on with him these past few weeks, his money was stolen, family member passed and someone was in the ER on Wednesday.

He hasn't flaked on me before, and he's been pretty truthful about a lot of stuff. We've been talking for a month.

I'm thinking that maybe something happened with family...I'm not sure I should give him the benefit of the doubt or not...he has showed me that he really likes me, and he's told me...

Not sure what to do with this...it's my first time being so involved with a person.

He's already made plans to come see me in a few weeks, and talked about what we'd do, and he's also taken the time off from work...

Help?

Updates:
Just want to thank you guys for the input, the guy contacted me and gave me an update on his situation. Everything is good now :)

0|0
2|3

Most Helpful Guy

• Typically, when a girl does this, smart guys will say, one strike and you're out.

So if he wants to make new plans, let him, but plan something else that will be fun. If he follows through, win. If he doesn't, don't bother calling and just do your fun thing.

0|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 2

• Since this is the first time, yes. But it sounds like a lot of VERY bad things all happening at once. Either he is the unluckiest guy on the planet this week (in which case you should stay away from him or something could happen to you just by being around him); or he is seeing someone else, and he is telling you that horrible things are happening to him so you won't question him too hard.

I think it may be the second one.

1|0
    0|0