I thought about it?! dating at work?

A guy whom I confessed to told me 'That's probably not the best idea' for his professional reputation would be on the line if he were to agree to get to know me better. I then asked if we could swap no. and he said ' I'll email you' He's been showing a lot of signs and I think he's keen. No email came and when I saw him last week for the last time, he told me ' I thought about it but I really can't. I would love to but my company's regulations would never allow me to.I'm new at this job and if someone were to find out, I could get in trouble'

me: I'm never gonna head to your office again so that shouldn't be a problem.

Him : I know that. I'm not worried for you. I'm worried for me.I'm new (1 mth) at this job and if someone were to find out, I could get in trouble.

Me: How?

Him: I could let it slip. That's all it takes.

Me: Would you?

Him: I don't know. I might.

I kept quiet then.

Him: I'm really flattered. I am and I would love to but I can't. I can't risk this, I'm sorry.

He was still teasing me before I asked him about it on the last session. He still continued displaying signs, eyes following and staring. Quite a number of them ...

Do you guys really hate to date through/at work? Sb who's associated with your work...?FML.

0|0
1|1

Most Helpful Girl

• It's unprofessional.. unfortunately. The biggest worry for companies is that you create a conflict of interest between clients and personal relationships, also that the business will be affected by the emotions you bring in from an internal relationship. I wouldn't push it if I were you, it sucks, but it's really not looked upon well. I've seen couples who work in completely different departments, but even that's rare. That being said, I'm sure he's interested too otherwise he wouldn't be giving off those signs, but right now, his professional development is more important than a social/relationship one.

1|0
    0|0