Issue in our past with someone she slept with while she knew me

I've been talking to this girl for around five months. We've had a romantic connection for quite some time but she had a boyfriend when we met. She broke up with him about a month after we started talking and there was definitely a connection between us and we were very close. About a week after we kissed for the first time she went out to dinner with an old boyfriend, and she told me that if her doing anything with him would upset me she wouldn't because she didn't want to disrupt what we had. I told her I didn't want her to sleep with him and the night she did, she called me crying telling me she slept with him and asking me not to be mad at her.

The next day she clearly felt bad, but at the same time didn't want to come off as too apologetic because she felt like she hadn't done anything wrong since we weren't dating and she had known this guy since she was 13 or something (we're 23 now). I told her that it upset me, but that I knew I didn't really have a right to be upset about it and that I knew she was in a complicated situation because she had just gotten out of a long term relationship.