How to keep a relationship going?

I'm a very busy guy. I'm writing almost all the time. I get distracted very easily and can hide away at home for days with just me and my brainstorming sessions. Aloof would be a good word for it. But I'm not anti-social or whatevs, just prefer time at home writing or gaming to being out partying and drinking.

Thing is, I like this girl. We did some stuff last year, saw a movie, got dinner the whole thing, but in my mind it was never really a date, just some friends chilling. I know it was a date and the fact that I never followed up on it (ie 2nd date, 3rd date) until now makes me look absolutely terrible. The biggest problem is that just me and her, we're cool and talk about tons of awesome stuff. But anytime someone brings up "dating" or "boyfriend/girlfriend" neither of know how to react.

I'm not really good at dating or relationships, in fact I'm absolutely terrible at both. Now it's a year later and I can see how stupid I was being. I don't know if she's still in to me. We text a lot and sometimes play games together and have a great time. We weren't technically going out, at least we never thought of it that way. All these societal notions are annoying. Why can't two people enjoy similar things together without it having to be a date? It's so much pressure when you call it a date! But I digress.