Would anyone date a 21 year old guy with a tragic life story?

I've never had a girlfriend (I briefly went on one date but it never worked out). To make a long story short, my life has been a total tragedy. I grew up in complete poverty, homeless for part of the time. However, I've been blessed with an IQ of around 170 (been tested) and was able to attend a top college on scholarship. The problem is that I am so poor, I am unable to do almost anything fun and girls find my family situation bizzare. I'm estranged from my mother and much of my family has had drug/alcohol issue. I'm athletic and normal in every other way. However, when girls get to know me they get creeped out by my background and don't think I will every amount to anything because I grew up so poor. Yeah I may be smart but I'm still a college student and I haven't had the chance to use my intelligence so it doesn't really help. After college, I hope to work in stock trading not because I want to make money but because I'm good at it. I trade virtual money and regularly make 30%+ returns per year without trying. My professors tell me I'm one of the best tape readers (predicting stock price movements based on prior prices) they've seen. However, even if I become wealthy I don't believe any girl will ever want to date a guy that has had my background.

0|0
4|5

Most Helpful Girl

• There are many facets to your story. One question I have is, if you are mathematically or "stock savy" with an IQ of 170 why haven't you come up with ways to make money..ANY type of job is a JOB and a respectable girl who appreciates hard working men, would appreciate you holding down ANY job.

Secondly, it is very scary to meet men with tore up family life. I've had a strong supportive family all my life (I'm 37) and my boyfriend who is nearly 10 years younger than me has had JUST THE Opposite. By the grace of god he turned out to be a laid back, sensative, funny, patient man.