What should a below average looking man do?

Ok, firstly I'd like to tell you that this question isn't completely about dating and relationships. I'm a 28 year old man residing in an Asian third world country. The problems started since day one. On the day I was born, most of my relatives even refused to hold me, saying 'Ugh, the baby is so ugly, unlike his parents who are good looking'. Even throughout childhood, kids at school used to bully me, and call me names because of my looks. This discrimination against me continued until I graduated from University. Even now, whenever I'm out at malls or restaurants, I get weird looks from people, as if I'm an alien. I'm a software developer by profession and have a steady job, but I don't have friends at all. And women are out of the question. When people don't even want to be friends with me (because they feel I look so bad), women willing to date me is out of the question. In fact, I don't even think of dating or relationships. At one point, I even considered plastic surgery to alter my looks, but my doctor told me that it would be too risky, and not really worth the huge cost.

There have been instances where I have become friends with people (both male and female) over the net. We exchange lots of emails, and eventually when the other person asks for my pic and I sent it to him/her, that person immediately stops contacting me.

I always wonder how would life be for good looking people, and that they're so lucky. I never chose to be bad looking, so I don't understand why the society is punishing me for a crime I didn't commit. Forget women and dating, I just want to be treated like a human being, rather than an alien.

I wanted to post my pic and ask you people if I'm really THAT bad looking, but I'm Xper level 3, and I'm not allowed to post links until I reach XPer level 4. And due to some stupid jinx with my profile, I'm even unable to upload my pics to my profile. Please help me out. Thanks in advance.