Why don't women give me a chance? Should I just stop?

I am an intelligent, respectful, charming, and laid back guy; and yet women always seem to pass me by. I have a great job with good benefits, I have a bachelors degree, and an associates. I plan on furthering my education by applying to purdue. I'm no slouch in my social, or academic life I am always striving to work on my flaws be they physical, emotional, spiritual etc. I am a very understanding an empathetic individual.

Basically every girl I have ever taken an interest in has always turned me down; and that is not an exaggeration. Some just pretended to like me. Most of them have called me ugly or other horrible things. That was high school and I got over it. I'm in college now and girls still seem to act the same. They act like they are interested and once I start to show interest after talking to them for awhile and try to ask them out they just blow me off or say that they have a boyfriend. I can't talk to my family about this as they ALWAYS ridicule me and say that there is something wrong with me if women keep rejecting me, this of course hurts like all hell because if I can't go to them or count on them; who can I go to? My brother is the opposite of me he will sweet talk women just to get them into bed, go after girls who are in relationships get them into bed and not look back all because he can. He is 23 and I am 20. I'm more of the guy who is a gentleman but nowhere near a doormat or pushover. It actually gets worse because guys are approaching me and telling me I'm handsome. I mean no offense but I am not interested in men at all. This just makes me ask more questions like "WTF can a dude tell me in handsome but a girl has never ever told me that."