Suggestions for someone getting back to dating after a break?

Alright people, this is my current situation. I'm a 27year old man, single since 4 years. I was involved in a few relationships earlier, and also I never seemed to have trouble finding datable women or approaching them. But after my last breakup 4 years ago, I chose to remain single because I wanted to focus on my career (which was faltering at that time), and I felt that a relationship would be more of a distraction than an inspiration for me. So for 4 years, I completely focused on my career and stayed away from women (except for my relatives and close females friends with whom I had purely platonic relations).

Now, I'm doing reasonably well in my career (I'm a software developer), and also earn decently (although its nothing great). I've begun to feel a bit lonely, so I'd like to get back into the dating scene. But the problem is, I just don't seem to know where to

find approachable women, so I'm asking this question to get some tips.

I obviously don't want to approach random women in malls or parks, because I'd appear like a creep. And I wouldn't like to go to nightclubs/pubs/discos because I'm a teetotaler and also I find such placed too 'over-the-top' for my comfort. So apart from these, is there any other ways by which I can find a woman? Online dating is something I could consider, but I'd like to keep that as a last option only if I have been unsuccessful with everything else.

Also, I seem to have lost a lot of confidence when it comes to women, probably because I have stayed away from dating for too long. Sometimes I find it hard to believe that I'm the same man who used to feel so confident and date really awesome women (I'm not talking about 'looks' here, because I'm not shallow) just a few years ago. Again, some advice regarding this would be really helpful.