Was confronting him about this a bad idea?

I met a guy on a dating site. We've been talking for about 2 months now. We both admitted that we really like each other. We have met up before. We have lots in common, same career interests, our personalities and senses of humor are compatible, etc. He contacts me every single day and he always initiates it and we often talk for hours everyday.
Recently I noticed my email was full of emails from the dating site. I don't really go on there anymore so I decided to go on there and delete my account. When I went there, I saw that he has been online on the site. I felt a little bit sad about this, because I felt like if he really liked me, he wouldn't feel like going there that much. I'm new to online dating so maybe I'm just not used to how it works... but I felt a bit uncomfortable with this, even though we aren't official boyfriend and girlfriend.
I tried to just not say anything about it (I don't want to seem clingy or stalkerish) and we talked for a couple more days normally, and I didn't bring it up. But I still felt weird about how he still goes on the site and I couldn't bury the feeling. So finally, I ended up telling him that I saw that he still goes on there. I told him that seeing that made me feel like I could be being played/led on and I didn't like it. And I told him that I felt like he could be saying everything he says to me, to tons of other girls.
He didn't get upset or weirded out. He said that he understood and that he isn't a player. He said he does really like me, but didn't know what we are. And he said he would work hard to earn my trust.
I don't know if he's been on the site since then, because I deleted my account. But I'm worried that I shouldn't have confronted him about that, and I'm worried he might think I'm clingy now. Was it a good idea to bring that up?

Updates: