My mom hates my girlfriend. What do I do?

I am 18 and Im currently a college student and I've been dating this girl for 5 months. Honestly she is the nicest, most caring, and unselfish person ever and I truly love her.

Being in college, we sometimes sleep together, and unfortunately my parents found out about this. Like any parent they were shocked and disappointed, and I admit this was a mistake. After a few months, I talked with my dad and he said he fully supported my relationship and said it was my choice to date whoever I want and suffer any consequences because I am an adult. He realized that I knew my mistake and knows that we have turned around as a couple.

On the other hand, my mom hates my girlfriend. She thinks that my girlfriend is selfish and a slut for what happened, which I understand. She fails to realize her good qualities and completely disapproves and says that I am not to date her. On top of all this my girlfriend and my mom only met once.

I respect my mom's opinion, but I think that as an adult, it should be my decision, not hers. Ever since, I think our relationship has been healthy and strong. We study together and we truly enjoy each other. My only problem is that I wish my mom would give me a second chance to show her that my girlfriend isn't what she thinks she is.

Any thoughts on what I should do? Any advice is appreciated!

0|1
3|2

Most Helpful Girl

• I despise mothers like this. You need to shut her down. If you don't, it will lead to her getting in-between you and your girlfriend and eventually cause fights and lead to break ups. Not to mention, your girlfriend will end up hating your mom.