Why would a band be jealous of a really good singer?

i went for an audition for a band- im a really good singer- I mean along the likes of whitney houston or mariah carey- unique voice, and i have great range, and lots of talent. I have little experience but sound better than a pro. I had talked to the bassist n was sick, so when i went in it was more for practice. When I sang acapella, the bassist rolled his eyes- in jealousy. Some people seem to be jealous of my talent and its stupid. Then, another guy came to audition and there were male/female parts. All he did was sing over my parts--and he sounded--HORRIBLE. I mean bad pitch, tone, bad voice.. he sounded like an idiot. He was also trying to put me down to make me look bad and tell me how to sing. The band just went with him cuz he was bullying me and let him do it, even helped him. they were all males and im female. they previously had a female singer, and i was better than her

no one was nice to me- only the bassist said it was hard to sing what i did--all they wanted to do was bring me down- make me feel like i wasn't good enough- while they complimented the fat guy who sang so bad it almost made me puke.. i was thinking wtf? even the fat guy blurted out WOW HER VOICE SOUNDS GOOD. I mean don't they they want a great singer? someone with charisma, talent? the band then kept trying to show the fat guy with no talent they liked him--non verbally, while ignoring me.. as if meh we dont like u... so confusing.. what kind of idiots think this way?

Updates:
the bassist later said "he's pretty good", and didn't even compliment me but put me down and was rude to me. it was so frustrating but I used to work with a guitarist who too got jealous of my singing and began acting like an idiot.. jealous of me etc.. if i was in a band and found someone good i'd be thrilled what is wrong with these people

0|0
1|5

Most Helpful Guy