Why do people think that they are photographers because they have an iPhone?

Updates:
This question applies to anyone with a smartphone, really.

0|0
7|5

Most Helpful Girl

• lmao why do people think they're a "model" just because their friend has a canon and took some photos. Both are a joke and I don't get it, stop inflating your worth it'a sad

0|1
    0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• Because they see that the image looks sharp and they think they took a great picture, when in reality, there's much more in order to make a photograph look great, but many have never taken basic classes of photography or video, so they don't know.

0|1
    0|0

What Girls Said 6

• Because people think if they can take a photo, that makes them photographers. Especially when they throw a filter on it to make it "artsy". Cause apparently that's all that real photographers do, according to some people I know. As a photographer myself, I rarely take artistic looking photos with my phone. I reserve my phone's camera for photos of my dog, friends, and random things I find funny. I have a professional camera for my profession. Not just an iPhone, no matter how good of photos those things can take nowadays.

0|0
    0|0
  • Just because they can take good pictures doesn't mean they believe they're photographers. I am an ASPIRING photographer, and I had an Iphone. The camera was a lot better than the REAL camera I had so I used my phone more often. Doesn't mean I think I'm a photographer now.

1|0
    0|0
    • Buy a cheap manual film SLR. That's the best way to learn.

• Show All
    • I believe so, not sure.

• Considering your age, it most likely was (no offense meant, of course).

The problem with digital is that you have to spend a ton of money to get the same quality that you could get from a cheap camera body and a good lens when you shoot film.

• because they think filters make them photographers

0|0
    0|0