Who here knows an actual style of dancing?

Sure dancing is art and can be subjective but I'm just curious to see if anyone knows any learned dancing styles and not just the bobbing and grinding in clubs. I for instance know swing (east coast), ballroom, the merengue, the cha-cha, tango, and salsa although I'll be honest, the latin styles of dance I'm still learning and not super great at them. My preferred styles to dance to are swing and ballroom.

0|0
12|10

Most Helpful Girl

• To say that I have two left feet would be the understatement of the century... but, I married a dancer, and he had me dancing the tango like a champion in just a few months.
    The short-term goal was just to have a dance for our wedding, but, even after 16+ years together, he'll still do things like pull over into an empty parking lot and have a spontaneous milonga with just me and him. <3

Shakira notwithstanding, my hips definitely *do* lie... hahahah I'm as stiff as a board when I try to dance most of the time. I have NEVER been able to do that whole snake-slither hip thing that's necessary for most other Latin dances.
    Luckily, the tango doesn't require that.

Slightly relevant:
    I used the tango as an analogy for... making love, in my opinion here:
    www.girlsaskguys.com/.../q2026787-do-girls-or-guys-do-the-most-work-while-having-sex

0|1
    0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• I do Irish dance. I've been doing it since I was 5. But I might quit soon because my teacher is retiring and I am going to have to find a new dance studio, and the good studios are all in the next state over and I would need a car to get there but I don't have a car at the moment. Plus it's expensive and there are other things that I think I want to try

0|1
    0|0

What Girls Said 11