Guys, Girls in Martial Arts-Yay or Nah?

Recently I got a black belt in the martial art I've been doing for 3 years, and I'm really dedicated to my training. Not only is it great exercise and self-defense, but it's also very spiritual and social.

It seems like I get two reactions from guys. Either they want to fight me, and keep teasing me about how I couldn't REALLY beat them up, OR I get the impression that they think I'm a freak... like a girl into martial arts can't also be girly and feminine.

Would you date a girl with a black belt? Would you be intimidated at all?

*For the record, I don't look like I'm very tough. I'm 5' and curvy.

0|0
1|7

Most Helpful Guy

• A blackbelt that only took 3 years is not as respectable as one that look like 9.

No disrespect intended, because it is a serious time commitment that requires serious passion, but in the end it's an artform more than anything else. I box, once a week because of serious other time commitments. Although it's not beautiful, I feel as though I have learned more from boxing than I ever have from years of karate. Getting hit, and actually hitting others as hard as you can is a totally different mentality, and leads to different body movements.

I would totally date a girl who is a blackbelt, but unless she lifted a serious amount of weight I would never take her seriously.

Size makes an absolutely enormous difference in any fight. And if we're talking about a brawl, the fight always ends up rollin on the ground in less than 15 seconds. So, unless your art is Aikido, JJ, BJJ, Judo, or even Sambo, it really makes no difference.

In summary, although I would not respect your capabilities to inflict harm on another, I would respect your time commitment and the skill you have developed as well as the inner calm you have derived from your artform. I would date a blackbelt.

0|0
    0|0