Stay home until marriage/serious relationship and save lots of money or move out at 20 and gain experience but no capital?

American culture often has a lower age for moving out than eastern cultures generally and there are obvious advantages to both but what would you prefer?

you move out early (under 25), you learn life management and independence but your bank account is always balancing around a several thousand and it prob won't go up much for a while.

you stay home until a serious relationship or 30 years old, you're less experienvced but youve managed to save 50 k over the years. to move out with.

what do you choose? financial security over experience or vice versa?

0|0
3|4

Most Helpful Girl

• I like to have my own space thats why I chose to stay on campus. Even after I graduated, I got an apartment.

Although, after seeing a co-worker take the financial security route, I do wish I would have had that opportunity. He's saved at least 30 grand sp far, but my parents drive me crazy, i can't live with them.

If you have the opportunity to live rent/bill free do it! Student loans, rent, car note, groceries, plus other bills/living expenses is ridiculous! I could save so much, if I didn't have to pay rent.

0|1
    0|0

What Girls Said 2

• I think moving our and gaining experience would help you in the long run. If you're thirty and have 50k, great, but then you get somewhere to leave and then have to get an entry level position to pay for it. Whereas if you got an education and experience you may not have the greatest home to start with but you would get there and then have a better way to pay for a better lifestyle

0|0
    0|1
    • Hold on, why is everyone assuming the guy at home isn't educated or has a good career?

They are doing the same except the dude at home is saving all his rent money.

• Show All
    • Yah both are doing the same except one stayed home to save.