Is it unhealthy to straighten your hair once a week?

I usually straighten my hair once a week and I was wondering if that can be damaging to my hair. I have naturally very curly hair & it tends to be big so when I use the hair straightener it looks really pretty and shiny :) I keep it that way for a few days and start the process over again. Have any of you damaged your hair by doing this? Thanks in advance :) Oh, and I have somewhat dry hair so I use extra conditioner when I straighten it so it doesn't get depleted of moisture

0|0
8|4

Most Helpful Girl

• I straighten my hair once a week because I have extremely curly hair and it sucks so I like it to look nice and pretty. Just make sure when you do straighten it that you put in heat protectant and if you really want to make sure your hair stays Healthy buy some good repair shampoo and conditioner at the drugstore. It really helps I've been doing this method for about 4 months and my hair has grown and improved so much!

0|0
    0|0
    • Haha thanks @JustinCaseUDontKnow

• Show All
    • LOL :) Yeah, it would have been so much easier if we'd been born with straight hair!! Lol :)

What Guys Said 4

• I agree with @Paulina528 that it doesn't hurt to straighten your hair

0|0
    0|0
  • hair is replaced every 70 days so wouldn`t matter

0|0
    0|0
  • It shouldn't hurt it as long as u use a heat protection for your hair

0|0
    0|0
  • heat is bad for your hair it causes split ends

0|0
    0|0
    • Frequent haircuts might solve that problem I hope, lol :) Thanks for answering :)

What Girls Said 7

• i dont hink so, as long as you use protector. i straighten my hair more often than once a week and as long as i use protector and get hair cuts regularly myhair is doing ok :)

0|0
    0|0
    • Thanks for answering :) Straightening my hair is a bit of a new thing for me so I wanted some opinions :)