Is it fatal to say I'm not good at selling?

i got an interview today for a clothes store and they asked what my weakness is..i say prob the selling..i can't always make potential customers a real customer...

i know that was an stupid answer..will that be fatal that I will fail the interview?

0|0
5|6

Most Helpful Guy

• It really depends on the type of store. Obviously sales are a big part of every business, but it really depends how that store operates. If they are more of a sales person and customer relations type of store then yes you will want to have a good proven sales record because their profits are based on if YOU can sell the clothes. If the store is like most stores and really don't have the employees selling the clothes, they are just there more for helping and clerical work, then no sales would not be crucial to the job. I probably wouldn't have said it like that anyways because it just doesn't sound good, and can lead to them thinking other things like why you can't make sales. Don't do what some of the others said and tell them you are too good at something because not only have they probably heard that before, but nobody likes a brown noser. If they ask for your weaknesses just be honest, but try and phrase it in a way that doesn't sound so bad, or make it seem like something that can easily be improved.

0|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 5

• If this ever happens again I want you to think about something...what do you know about clothes? Do you know what you like? Do you know about what everyone is wearing?

If the answers are yes...you won't be selling clothes...you will be a style advisor. You are not selling...you are leting people know what would look good on them.

An interview...any interview can be handled the same way. There is no such thing as a weakness. There are just things you are not as good at. Finding another way to approach them changes that.

I couldn't tell you how many times I scored a job just because of that way of thinking.