How do you tear down an emotional wall?

So I am starting to believe that there is something really wrong with me. I am a male 19 years of age graduated high school. So I grew up in a neighbor hood that was, not the best for a kid. To put it in short there were several occasions where I was fired upon for reasons only known to those crazy drug addicted men. Anyway I believe that I might have some mental trauma issue. I always learned what was right in the world and what was proper when I was little. But, It seems that I have a lack of emotional feelings. Lets paint a mental picture here or attempt to. Picture someone standing perfect posture. Looking you dead in the eyes without blinking. While you tell them that 3 of their friends where just in a car accident and 2 of them where ejected from the car. Their responds is, they should have worn their seat belt. My mother was very honest with me about what people told her. Some of my fellow students at the high school I graduated from, informed her that they were scared of me. I asked her what their reason was, their retort was I don't exactly know. I don't know why they would be scared, I hold three black belts but I have never told them about it, or even gotten into what I would reference as a fight. I don't use the words hot, baby or sexy to describe a lady, it seems a little off putting. I have been on 7 dates recently (within the past 3 months or so) and all of them have informed me that I was nice, but I seemed distant to them. I am relatively aware that I should take a visit to a psychologist to see if he can shed any light upon the situation. He will just want money and another visit most likely, got to keep the bills paid you know. I think while typing this I might have stumbled across the reason why I seem to be completely emotionally shut off. I believe it might have started around when the girlfriend that I actually found interesting decided to nix it after 4 months, because I was to random or something of t