Should I ask her out or not? If so, how?

I would like to ask a friend out, but she confuses me. We seem to get along fine when we're together, but she never seems receptive to doing anything together when I text her. She's 20, I'm 22. She comes across as a 'bad girl', with multiple tattoos and piercings, and a pretty crazy side. Enjoys accenting her 'good bodily features'. She dresses kinda slutty, but isn't a slut. She doesn't care what other think about the way she acts. I like her personality, as well as her looks.

I can have quite a crazy side of myself too, and enjoy going out. I'm very athletic and fit, in the Army, like dangerous stuff, partying, etc. But whenever she mentions going drinking or planning anything with her friends, she's never asked or hinted at me joining. We used to have more friends in common before they left college. Lately we got back in touch because I asked her to do some portrait modeling for me as I'm an amateur photographer. The session went well.

Ultimately, I don't know how to 'read' her, she's hard to figure out. So, I don't know if I should ask her out if there's no feeling at all in her eyes.

What should I look for? If so, how should I ask her out, esp without making it awkward. I's really like to give 'us' a shot. help?

Updates:
Thanks to all you guys for the advice so far. Still pondering a course of action.
Since going home for Christmas break for a month, I've graduated and moved to a new area 4 hrs away. Yesterday out of nowhere she texts me and says: 'I miss you". We texted a few more times and haven't since.

0|0
3|1

Most Helpful Guy

• Don't go straight for: "Hey I think your interesting and I want to get to know you" It'll shock her that her friend suddenly likes her, and in turn she'll take a few steps back, which will make you think she doesn't like you in a similar manor.