What would you define as the poverty line or the poverty threshold?

What is the lowest that you would accept of a human being living under poverty?

Ok I guess I should have been specific, describe what would be the life of a person just on the poverty line or, what materials things, or services should he or she have to be just on the povertt threshold.
not under not above, just on the line. I would give you an example: Somebody on the poverty threshold should have live under a roof with no leaks.
wooo forgive my grammar sorrry

Most Helpful Girl

• link

Thats a pretty accurate list for US poverty rates. I'm approximatively $5,000 under the designated poverty line for my family, and it's unacceptable. My parents work really hard, I am a full time student at a top university with two jobs (soon to be three in the fall), and a sister whose about to go to college.

No one should ever have to live in my conditions, or anything below that.

• So you have a hard life?

What's the minimum wage in the US?

• Show All
    • 7.25... is that for your agegroup or for all adults?

After reading what you've wrote I'll be honest I was shocked, I didn't realize this happened in 'the land of opportunity'?

England's BAD for unemployment at the min, the credit crunch f***ed everyone over. Jobs are scarce, people with qualifications can't find work and are living on 'the dole' (state benefits, income support).

• It's for all adults, except waiters, they get paid about 4.25 because they're expected to receive "tips." Which aren't guaranteed lol. And yeah, the UK has an overall unfortunate situation :( there are very few countries experiencing otherwise. But at least you guys have healthcare, we don't. Gosh, the worlds so messed up.

What Girls Said 3