Can a brain be a bad accessory for a girl?

I struggle with dating men. I can meet a guy and have a great conversation with him and then when he asks what I do for a living and I tell him that I am an engineer, all of a sudden I can sense him looking at me differently and trying to remember the nearest escape route.

All of my brothers have wives that are less educated and also less independent needing their husbands to make all their decisions. They are sweet and innocent in that way and I think my brothers get a lot of pleasure out of fixing things for them.

What do you guys think about brainy girls who like to solve problems on their own? Do you get more turned on by a girl that needs your help or a girl that can carry her own weight in that regard?

0|0
2|10

Most Helpful Guy

• Some guys like a smart girl, most guys don't like a girl smarter than them. A lot of the guys here on the internet are going to like the smart girls, but when you talk to your average dude, they don't want to deal with a girl who makes them feel dumb. Maybe a fear of manipulation plays a part as well (girls tend to be manipulative, a smart manipulative girl can cause a lot of problems, it's happened to me before). This doesn't keep me away from them (I like smart girls personally) but in general most guys just don't say I want an engineer they say I want a model.

It's not really a huge deal I don't think, it's not going to play more influence than the way you look or how fun you are with them, but it might be a slight turn off is all. Like I've heard friends bitch about how smart their girl gets on them sometimes, but I've never heard of a guy breaking up or something over intelligence alone.