Is putting on makeup trial-and-error?

I have never used makeup before in my 18 years of life because I always thought it felt a bit heavy on my face and it smelt kinda funny. My best friend decided to have fun and do a make over. When my mom saw me, she asked if I did it myself and I replied that I didn't, but my best friend did. I add that, although she [my mom] bought me makeup, I never applied it myself.

However, she told me that it was instinctive [how a girl knows how to apply makeup]. Is she right, or is it just trial and error.

• Instinctive
    11% (2)0% (0)11% (2)Vote
  • Trial and error
    89% (16)100% (1)89% (17)Vote
And you are? I'm a GirlI'm a Guy

Most Helpful Girl

• trial and error

when I first started putting make up on, I never really knew how to put it on. I kinda just aimlessly put eye make up on my eyes and lipstick on my lips. When I was 13 all the way until a few months after I turned 16 I only put on pencil eyeliner on the bottom of my eye and now that I look back at it I thought it looked so bad on me haha. I didn't really even start using foundation until last year when I was 16 cause I never really knew what it was. But overtime I feel like my skills have gotten better and I really like the way I do my makeup now, as opposed to how I did it when I first started out with it.

Even now every so often I go on YouTube and look up tutorials cause I still like to experiment with it.

What Guys Said 0

No guys shared opinions.

What Girls Said 6

• Makeup definitely is trial and error- its a lot of "monkey see, monkey do."

If you are unsure, watch YouTube videos that can give you basic tutorials, then go from there.

Eventually, you are going to find what works for you, what products you like, what techniques work best for you, etc.

Just keep trying, and you'll get it in no time. Things like foundation, powder and blush are basic, things like eyeliner, eyeshadow take a bit of practice.