Anyone with some good fashion sense? Need your helping picking a suit.

I have some graduate job interviews coming up and I was planning on finally investing on a suit for the closet. I am horrible with these sort of decisions and would be great if I could get some opinions. Looking at my picture try to give me some advice tailored (no pun intended) towards me. Perhaps what colors to look for? Black, Grey, Blue. What suit type? Shirt color? Just give me your opinion and maybe some rational for it?

Note: I would describe my body shape as wide, I am not short but I have fairly broad shoulders. I have tanned skin, maybe this would affect what colors I should wear.

Anyway any advice is appreciated, I have no experience in the formal wear department.

0|0
1|2

Most Helpful Guy

• Not black. Its not the most conservative.

Charcoal or navy. If you're tanned, navy might look better imho. But if you prefer charcoal, get it. Single breasted, two or three button (but not a high three button), single or double vent.

Shirt - white is safe, and for interviews, I'd wear white. The next 'standard' color for men's dress shirts is light blue (followed by pink). Get a couple white shirts, then look into blue or stripes.

If your shoulders are naturally broad, don't get something with built up shoulders - just clean and fits well, make sure the body is taken in to wear it fits well.

I half a soft spot for double windsors, but some people think they look a little ... much. Learn to tie everything from four in hand to double windsor, decide based on the tie ... also the collar. A wide spread collar calls for a larger knot, a point collar for a narrower knot.

For interviews, black shoes, leather sole, black belt. Brown shoes/belt look good with navy but safe it for slightly less formal settings.

What's your budget?

0|1
    0|0
    • Dunno really. Have to squeeze Dad for it. Hopefully 250-400 dollars not including shoes.