Do you think having tattoos and stretched ears destroy your chance of getting a job?

I wanna know what it's like in other countries when it comes to specific careers and having tattoos and stretched ears.

I live in Toronto so people sort of have an open mind when it comes to expressing themselves. But I'm also a medical student.

I work in a hospital (with my stretched ears) & I wear long sleeves to cover up most of my tattoos. Or, sometimes I just remove all the piercings I can for safety reasons (some patients are violent)

Would you want to be defended in court by a good lawyer with plenty of tattoos or a shabby one who looks modest?

What's it like trying to find a job where you live if you have a lot of piercings?

Most Helpful Guy

• Yep, Society hates/fears open-minded people.

• Being open minded and looking unprofessional are two very very different things.

• Show All
    • I agree.

You'd be surprised at the amounts of glares a person gets in the summer time.

But I think it's more of what society views having tattoo and piercings as being uncommon and a sign or rebellion.

• thanks for BA!

What Guys Said 4

• For tattoos, it depends on the type of job, where the tattoos are, and what they are of. A full face tattoo in a customer service job with a lot of in person work might not work so well. A tat on the arm where it can be easily covered is probably not a big deal.

Stretched earlobes, that might be troublesome, as it might not heal as quickly as the usual piercings do, and many businesses are dependent on first impressions, etc.

But the jobs where it won't matter so much and you don't deal with a lot of people would probably allow you to have more of those kinds of things.

• Without a doubt, visible tattoos and uncommon piercings will prevent you from getting a job with many employers.