Girls, why does it seem like you only wear three things?

I'm in my first year of college and I've noticed that from this year and the last 4 years of high school it seems like basically all of the girls I see wear really short shorts, short tight skirts or jeans/sweatpants/yoga pants. I can get the whole jeans/sweatpants/yoga pants thing. My question is why do almost none of these girls wear proper length skirts (to around the knee) or maybe maxi skirts or something.Is it just the age group of the girls or is their no modesty anymore? I live in Florida by the way, in case that factors in to your answer.

Most Helpful Girl

• I think you named almost all the options besides dresses. Skirts, shorts, and pants... what else is there? Generally, attending classes is a casual occasion so I wouldn't wear my business suit or prom dress.

But you're right - many girls where clothes that are way too small or short.

• My main complaint is that most of the dresses/skirts girls wear are too short, like you mentioned. The dress you are wearing in your profile pic is the perfect lenght I'm mentioing it is knee length and not a mini skirt or short dress that most girls seem to wear.

• Show All
    • And thank you for BA

• Your welcome beautiful.

What Girls Said 7

• It's the competition.. each girl wants to be the hottest, and unfortunately to acquire that you have to apply the " the less, the better" notion. Yea they claim it's because they are more comfy and all that, but I don't believe it.

• That's a good point, sometimes it depends on the girl wearing it too and how they act.

• Show All
    • Strange I though you would dress like the amish at the beach. link

• Very funny.

• Knee length skirts are great for the office and I wear them often, but in the spring an summer when it's warm (and often humid and sticky), shorter shorts and skirts are more comfortable for casual wear.

Maxi skirts are trendy now, but they look awful on me. It looks like I'm wearing a curtain.