What makeup should I start off with?

I need some type of starter kit list of makeup (preferably cheap because I am a college student with very little money). I've never bought any type of makeup other than lip gloss. I tried going to the cosmetic section at the drug store and just pick out whatever I thought was pretty but I felt lost and ended up not getting anything.

I'm really interested in wearing makeup because I would like to look prettier and more like my age. I also have dark eye circles which I really hate and want to conceal. Do I need to get those makeup brushes too?

0|0
13|0

Most Helpful Girl

• Hey, I'm a college student who doesn't have heaps of money to spend on cosmetics either. That stuff is EXPENSIVE!

The absolute best time of year to buy makeup is black friday. You can go to those little drugstores (CVS etc.) and they are usually virtually empty, unlike the mall. They also have great sales (example: buy one get one free all revlon products). So that saves you half the cost, which can really add up. If you don't want to wait that long, get a few cheaper staples to tide you over.

As for WHAT you should buy, here's what most people wear:

For skin:

1. Foundation (definitely the most important one if you want your skin to look better!)

2. undereye concealer (for dark circles)

3. blusher

For eyes:

1. A decent mascara (look at the applicator before you buy it--make sure the bristles are fine and close together, like you would want your lashes to look.)

2. Eye shadow (more on colors later, you may also want to buy a base to make it stay on better and last longer)

3. eyeliner (avoid liquid eyeliners, go for crayons or good quality pencils).

For lips:

1. Lip gloss (be wary of cheap lip gloss; it will run down your chin and give you the "drooling" look--not attractive!)

2. Lipstick (tends to look more mature, but be careful about the colors).

COLORING:

possibly the most important one!