Girls! I'm hopeless when it comes to eyeliner!

I'm wondering how long it took you ladies to master putting eyeliner on? Personally I'm new to it, I've kind of experimented with eyeliner a few dozen times but I always end up with a squiggly line and by the time I fix it it's so thick! I feel hopeless. Any tips? ALSO did any of you ever feel like eyeliner looked weird on you when you first started wearing it?

0|0
6|1

Most Helpful Girl

• It depends. I'm STILL useless when it comes to using liquid eyeliner.

Honestly it depends on the kind of look you're going for. If we're talking everyday - my advice is to stick to the waterlines to start with - it makes it easier to get a thin line. On your top lashes, apply under the lashes and push up, or with a very sharp pencil, from the top - but drawing into the lashes. Doing it this way means you need less of a steady hand. You can go back and forth a few times and not make a mess. Just keep going until it looks dark enough.

I use gel eyeliner if I'm going for a more dramatic evening look. It has a more bold appearance like liquid eyeliner, but I fine it easier to use. Just use a very small eyeliner bush and start small. As with anything - it's plenty easy to add more than it is to take away if you've put too much on.

If eyeliner is a dramatic change for you and you're not used to the look - maybe wear brown instead of black. Using a magnified mirror can make it easier to get a very smooth line too.

Also maybe invest in a smudge stick (or you can buy eyeliner pencils which have them on the end) this means that if you put too much on, or the line is too thick, or it looks to harsh on you - you can smudge the color out a bit so it fades smooth. Don't be afraid to press quite hard with it - I used to be really delicate and it did hardly anything - but it doesn't really hurt so don't worry about that. It also gives you a really nice, day time, understated smokey eye.