Ladies, makeup questions? Concealer, foundation, etc.

So I am fairly new to the makeup world and I have a couple questions. So here goes.. What is the difference between concealer and foundation (confuses me because they are both liquid) and does powder have a specific name or is it just called powder? Also in what order are you suppose to put these three items, is it foundation, powder, then concealer or what? Also what is your favorite drugstore brand for these items, which one is the best in your opinion because I don't want to waste my money on something that's not very good. Thank you in advance! Oh one more thing, is it better to blend foundation with your fingers or a brush and if a brush then what type?

Most Helpful Girl

• Concealer - is like the name suggests, used to conceal your blemishes. For dark circles under the eyes, spots things like that. Most people use concealer before foundation, to basically flatten out the skin tone so there are no really noticeable darker patches.

Foundation is so of then used to even your skin. Give it a smooth finish. I mean basically they both do the same thing in essence - make your skin look better. But in different ways. Most people will do a whole face of foundation.

Powder is generally a finishing powder which you put on over the foundation. It just takes away any shine or wetness that may be left from your foundation. Makes it less obvious that you're wearing foundation if that makes sense. (you can also get foundation powders, which are more intense and used instead of foundation; and not as a finishing powder. But don't get these- I don't think they're very good).

Sometimes I use concealer after my foundation, if I have persistent dark spots. Some times I have terrible eye bags. Also it's important to buy concealer a tone or two lighter than your skin and foundation, as it's used to lighten the dark areas.