I'm too big for everyone

I'm 16 and a senior in high school, I wear a size 14 (in American eagle jeans) Everybody tells me that I don't look like I wear a size 14 (I look smaller) but no guy has ever asked me out. I also have a condition in my thyroid which causes me not too loose weight. I've been dieting for 4 months and nothings happening and I'm starting to feel bad about myself (like I almost want to be anorexic) please help me. And I'm tired of seeing all of my size 2 friends.

0|0
8|1

Most Helpful Girl

• I feel your pain! I too have a thyroid issue (have since I was a child) and it's rough. I was the bigger girl in high school, about the same size as you. It was hard, because all my friends had bf's and I never got asked out.

The important thing to do is to take care of yourself. It can be hard to lose weight with a thyroid disorder, especially if it's getting worse. The best thing to do is to eat well, exercise and just keep healthy habits. Don't skip meals, try to be consistent with what you are doing.

There will be guys who find you attractive. Now that I am older, I find that guys are much more accepting. High school is rough, especially when you are suffering from something no one really understands (except other people who have it!). And it can be hard seeing your skinny friends and thinking why can't you be like that too.

The fact is, we are all made differently. Some of us are skinny and some of us aren't. You can try diet and exercise, keep working on it, because it will take a while to see results. But it's better to lose it slow than to lose it fast and then gain it back fast.

Even though I am bigger, I have been able to stay fairly healthy because I keep healthy habits. I eat well, I exercise regularly and I go to the doctor on a regular basis. I have a lot of skinny friends who I can walk and run circles around because they don't take care of themselves.