First time on a plane...I have Questions.

Okay, first of all in about 3 weeks I will be going on a trip and its my first time flying. Here are my questions:

1. What are the steps before getting to the plane

and

2. What are the steps before you reach the people waiting to pick you up?

Thanks, jessi

0|0
2|1

Most Helpful Guy

• 1. arrive at the airport at least 2 hours before your flight is scheduled. you'll have to prove your identity, go through a security screening, and check in with an airline employee at the terminal. Visit this Government webpage for answers to all your questions about the identification you need, forbidden items, and other hints:

link

2. are there any layovers, where you change planes at an airport? if so, find out which terminals you'll need to change at, and how long your layover is. A few times, I've had to run from one end of a huge airport to another, because there was only a 20 minutes layover.

getting off the plane is usually easier than getting on the plane. The people who pick you up will need to know your airline and flight number, so they can meet you at the Delta terminal for Flight 448, which is scheduled to land at 7.35 pm (for example). If you have tickets, all this information will be printed on the tickets, or online.

A few more tips:

-when you get on the plane, if you have a backpack as your carry on, carry the backpack on your chest like you're hugging it, not on your back. this makes it easier to put the bag in storage, or under your seat.

-if you've never flown before, get a window seat if it's an option. the views from 40,000 feet are amazing.

-expect some dull waiting at the airports. take a book, iPod, magazine, notepad, or something to fill your time.