What is proper winter running gear?

I live in the New England area and it get's down to 15 below or lower here. I was contemplating buying a treadmill to stay in shape during the winter, but I've opted for spending my money on good, warm, winter running gear instead. I've ordered a swoosh nike sweatshirt with moisture wick technology, and xersion running leggings with moisture wick features. What else should I purchase to make sure I stay warm while running? What do I do about shoes? Is there special shoes to buy for winter running, or do I buy a special attachment? Should I purchase snow shoe like attachments? I've never done this before. I have a $200 budget. (Christmas is coming up and I have to have money to spend on my friends and family.)

What Guys Said 1

• I don't run much because I have very bad knees. But I walk in temperatures that low with the occasional short jog. I don't do anything special except dress warm in regular clothes.

I dress in layers. Underwear, thermal shirt and long john, regular jeans, heavy shirt, a fleece thingy, jacket, hat, and gloves. That will get me down to about 0-10 degrees. Lower than that I add a winter coat and wool scarf. The scarf is key, it makes a huge difference. I wear the same shoes in winter that I do in summer. Oh, and a handkerchief for the cold winter snot. :D

In the winter I always start in the direction heading into the wind. That way if I get a ways then decide it's too cold, I have the wind at my back on the return trip, instead of heading into the wind when I'm already freezing. Usually if I make it the first 10 minutes then I'm fine for as long as I want.

If you go for long runs and get warned up, layers can be stripped off so you don't sweat too much.

What Girls Said 1

• i strongly recommend you to invest in a treadmill with a somewhat cushioned belt.