I am a very shy person and I have no idea how to speak to girls?

Hello my name is Daniel and I'm 17 from the United Kingdom [England].

I find it very difficult to speak with girls, I struggle to make eye contact and I don't really like smiling because I don't exactly rate myself in the looks department. Whenever I'm at College I will walk straight through the canteen and basically stare at the floor to avoid eye contact with girls, I would consider myself a complete shy person. It’s the same when I'm on the bus and there are girls around me I could smile but I'm scared of there reaction because I don’t class myself has gorgeous.

I rarely ever go out unless it's to play football, activities or college and I'm not very good at socializing, of course I'm capable of speaking with girls/guys but I choose not to, more so with my own age group because I know there could end up being an attraction even if I didn't know so and I wouldn't know how to handle that situation. If I was approached at anytime by a girl I will be honest and say I don't know how I would deal with the conversation.

I never go to parties nor do I ever drink beer or smoke cigarettes which makes it less likely to meet people who are out to enjoy themselves. I honestly don't rate my looks and I don't think I have spoken with a girl the same age as me for ages, unless I include my mothers best mates daughter who I see now and again. I have known her for a long time but I find her very attractive but I couldn't see anything happening I don't think she would like me has boyfriend material. I could try but I am shy and don't really have the confidence to ask anybody out.