• Ask
  • myTake

Why isn't he asking me out?

I have been working at this company for about 5 months. I have an attractive co-worker (we're both in our mid-twenties), who have been flirting with me ever since I started working, and started hinting that we go out about 3 weeks after my start date. We both work full-time and in close proximity for about 8 hours a day, so we see each other a lot! In the beginning I wasn't that interested, but as time went on, I started to like him. He kept hinting that we go out all throughout, but when I finally showed interest about a month later, he didn't ask me out, for a couple of months! He keeps talking about the place he'd like to take me to, but didn't ask me out directly or tried to set a time for us to go. He asked me out last week, but called very last minute. I told him it was late to plan for anything then, and said that we will plan for something the following week. When I asked him a few days later which day he would like to go, he asked when I was free and I mentioned the weekend, he quickly said he will have to let me know later and said something about not being able to plan early because he sometimes has to care for his sick parent. I do know though that he goes out with his friends quite often, and mentioned going to a party the previous weekend. Anyway, we saw each other after that, and he continued to flirt with me and kept texting me as usually does almost every day, but the day that I said I was free to go out came, and I didn't hear anything from him. I am beyond angry at this point, mainly because I now believe that he thinks that I'm so into him that I'm willing to put up with this nonsense and will wait for him no matter what. I thought I was more important to him, that he would be willing to spend some time with me on the weekend (that's the impression I got from the way he talks to me and treats me), but his actions say otherwise. I'm so confused because he seems like a good person, and he implied many