It's a type of harmless mixture of proteins found in wheat and related grains, including barley, rye. Only a small percentage of the population is allergic to. If you're not allergic to gluten then there is no harm or consequence to eating it.
I'm not a nutritionist but I read somewhere that it's some kind of protein in grains and I find it hilarious when people who are not actually gluten intolerant are convinced they'll lose weight if they start living on a "gluten-free" diet.
It is a chemical found in Wheat, Rye, and Barley, Some people like my mother are gluten-intolerant (And yes we do know this, its only when she eats something that has either wheat, rye or barley, that the symptoms occur)
I have Celiac so I am well aware of what gluten is, as well as how Western Civilization seems obsessed with trying to use gluten in almost every aspect of cooking :( It is a protein found in wheat, rye, and barley. It helps bread rise, and maintain its shape. The name comes directly from the Latin meaning "glue".