How to keep a chocolate cake moist?

Tomorrow is my aunt's birthday, and she has requested that I make her a chocolate cake. Now I'm a pretty damn good cook, but as far as baking is concerned, I still have a lot to learn lol. The cakes I've made have been alright but I don't know how store bought cakes are so light and moist. Anyone have any tips/recipes they'd like to share? Thanks!

0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• Well egg whites in cake helps with moisture and fluffiness. Also giving your cake a bath. Kinda like a cheese cake. Put your oven on 300. Put a hotel pan of water on the bottom rack of the oven. When your Is steaming. Set your cake in there. Plate, springform pan, or cardboard. This should keep the moisture going and warm up the cake. Turn it down once the icing starts melting like cheese on a pizza.

1|0
    0|0

Most Helpful Girl

• -Folding in cake mixture (with a silicone spatula) helps.
    -Don't overwork the mixture. Just mix it enough to combine the ingredients thoroughly.
    -Allowing the cake to cool down after it's been in the oven for a decent amount of time helps too.
    -If you plan on keeping it in the fridge, wrap it up with clear film (cling wrap) very tightly. Then put it in the fridge. If you plan on icing the cake the next morning, make sure to bring the cake out of the fridge an hour prior icing, so you limit any sort of condensation happening.
    -If you plan on just leaving it out on the bench top, wrap it up in clear film and have a pot cover the top of it

1|0
    0|0
Sponsored

Have an opinion?

0/2500

Send It!

What Guys Said 0

The only opinion from guys was selected the Most Helpful Opinion, but you can still contribute by sharing an opinion!

What Girls Said 4

• Real butter, lots of it. This makes the cake more moist.

Light is in the baking. Do not over whisk anything, keep it airy. Sieve your flour twice and fold in ingredients that don't need proper whisking.