Protein Powder for Women - Any recommendations?

I'm 5'2 & range in weight from 101# - 105# I want to gain weight... muscle. Tone up, get a little stronger. NOT bulky. I just want to tone up & become stronger to help me with my job (I'm a nurse for animals). I know there are TOND of powders/supplements out there. I've seen Ideal Fit among others.

I also... don't eat much & I don't work out every day. I'm going to try, but if I don't, I don't want to take something that will necessarily make me fat. I, more or less, want to increase my protein intake.

0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• I've been using Weider Whey Premium for ages. It seems to work for me as I gained a couple of pounds of lean muscle and lost some fat over the years, and I started to get faster gains when I used powder. I can't exactly give an amazing recommendation since I'm not a hardcore bodybuilder and not a nutritionist and this is the only brand I've ever used.

I agree with @John_Doesnt that a natural diet is far superior.

One of the suspicions I have for why I might have made faster gains with the powder is simply because it reinforced a routine where I would take the powder in between workouts, and somehow that routine also helped me to continue working out. I was a bit more chaotic about exercising pre-powder.

If you decide to go with powder, I learned over the years that you can get away with much less than the recommend dosage. Apparently the recommended dosage is for the most hardcore bodybuilding types. I've been using half the recommended dosage for years and haven't noticed a difference.

0|0
    0|0

Most Helpful Girl

• Leave the powder and make sure you get it from natural sources. I'm 5'2 too and 110 pounds and I've been kickboxing for 5 years, you can't build muscles without working out just make sure you workout at least twice a week, kickboxing (mma in general), body weight hiit and strength training will help.

0|0
    0|0

Have an opinion?

What Guys Said 2