How does GAG know if you made duplicate accounts or not?

I'm assuming they look at the IP address and if it matches another one's account, they assume these are duplicate accounts?

I ask because I had two fake accounts on this site (I won't say their user names) and I only used them for trolling purposes. I've been doing this for about two months. Suddenly, I got a message about five minutes ago from the GAG administrators that they deleted my accounts because of duplication and warned me I could get banned.

Here is the problem I have: Let's say they DO determine duplicate accounts by IP address, what if you're living in the same house with another person who uses GAG and they use your computer? Does that mean their accounts will be in jeopardy? I don't think this is fair. OR do these use another methodology I don't know about? Would someone have to message one of the moderators to let them know?

I'm not in this situation but I'm just asking a "WHAT IF"? scenario here.

Updates:
@princessmethteeth Thanks for your thorough answer.

1|0
4|4

Most Helpful Guy

• Of course they check the IP address. They banned a bunch of real people before because they thought they were me. lol They lost like 10 real users... I've had multiple accounts in the past, but I always ran them through proxie servers and they never were wise to it.

0|1
    0|0
    • See, and this is why they need to change this. I'm sure there are other ways to solve the problem.

What Girls Said 4

• You could have been reported for it and then they checked and found the othet two accounts.

0|0
    0|0
    • How could someone have reported me? I'm telling you right now, I highly doubt someone knew these two accounts were mine.

• They might have been reported for something else (like trolling), and then GaG noticed the IP addresses.

• You can know from the questions they ask too.

2|0
    0|0