How do foreign users on this site have such good english?

a lot of users on the site are from countries that don't have English as a dominant language but seem to have perfect English anyway. how did this come to be?

0|0
18|19

Most Helpful Girl

• I'm from a country where English isn't the first/national language, but it is mine due to my ancestors. I cannot say that my English is perfect, and I'm still learning. For me (public school), it is a must to study English since 7 until 17, which is from elementary school up until high school. You cannot learn other foreign languages such as French, Spanish etc. But we can learn Mandarin, in public high school, its optional if you want to learn Mandarin. Movies, reading and conversations really help me tho.

0|0
    0|0

What Girls Said 17

• English is simply a n essential language to learn. Most schools teach it to their students. It's pretty much a requirement.

Don't ask me why English became the popular language. All I know is that we're offered to learn a second language while others are forced to learn ours. I guess it's just the way the cookie crumbles.

1|0
    0|0
    • "Don't ask me why English became the popular language"... is a consequence of the British empire, and the anglo American super power dominance in our time.

English is THE international language of our time, the British empire spread the English language across the globe. And post WW 2 the American super power continued it's place on the world stage.

• Oh please, there are just as many people, especially dudes, especially Indians and Turks who suck at English big time, I'm embartased for them for being so shitty.
    But to answer your question.. English is easy af, that's why.

1|1
    6|0
    • *embarrased

• I'm not sure why but I find your sentence arrangement is quite weird. So maybe you shouldn't be judging others and think that English is easy? :)