Anyone know/is a sailor on gag?

hey there gagers. i need some advice, im trying to releve some stress about my career choice. im not entirely sure i want to become a sailor and i am well on my way to becoming one. I am studying to become a navagation officer to be spesific. what are the up sides and the down sides to becoming a sailor in the merchant navy?

0|0
1|5

Most Helpful Girl

• Well im not a sailor but i work in the marine industry and couldnt be happier. I love working outside on the water, i could never work in a cubicle.
    I know this isn't an opinion concerning the Naval side of things but...

0|1
    0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• The Merchant Navy is different from the US Navy. Being a Navigator is probably pretty much the same in both, but I imagine you already know most of that information. My understanding is that the Merchant Navy can be pressed into service in war and spend the duration serving the US, but they do not receive the benefits that the military does.

Otherwise, the merchant service does not make the interesting visits to ports that the military does, since they are serving an employer looking for profit.

0|1
    0|0
    • i was thinking of joining the navy but im Canadian and our navy isint the best. im more interested in international liners such as maersk or arctic delivery such as canship. do you know anything about that sort of lifestyle. i assume the lifestyles are much the same minus the combat training and weapons.

• The Navies, whatever country they are from, are dedicated to defense, and also a form of publicity that is called "showing the flag". So the life of a sailor in the Navy alternates between being prepared for combat by training and maintaining equipment, and visiting foreign ports (showing the flag) which is the chance for the sailors to "unwind" by partying at bars (for many) or by taking tours and enjoying the sights.