What does the word "all" in the statement in our profile setting mean? I just saw the word"all" today when I checked my privacy settings. Does it mean that once I check that little box, ALL the users on this site, including my friends who are transferred from the old GAG, would NOT be able to see my FULL profile like in the old GAG?
I am really so confused about this new following system. And why change the term "friends" to "followers"? It sounds so cold to me. Thanks for helping me.
Yes, that word is actually confusing, but as bomdottcom said, only people YOU follow can see your profile if it's set as private. People who are following you (your followers) can't see it, unless you are following them too. (thanks bomdottcom!)
Also remember that when you set your profile to private, you will not be able to get new followers (you'll keep the ones you have until that moment, though), since users cannot start following members with private profiles.
According to a recent question about this and response from some moderators, If you set your profile to private, only people YOU follow can see your profile; people who are following you (who you aren't following) cannot see your private profile.
My profile is private and I don't think we're following each other. So if you click on my profile that is how a person you aren't following sees it.
Also, if you set your profile to private people cannot follow you, apparently your profile has to be public. But the people you were friends with on the previous format will still remain your followers (while you will follow them unless you remove them).
Basically, you need to keep your profile public in order for new people to follow you. People who follow you cannot see a private profile unless you follow them back.