Am I really fat?

Hi, I'm Marie. I'm 16, 5 foot 7 inches tall, and I'm 190 lbs. Am I really fat?

0|0
8|13

Most Helpful Guy

• Because there are so many different body types, levels of muscularity, bone density, levels of athleticism, etc its difficult to say whether or not an individual is 'fat' based solely on those numbers alone. However, in my experience as a personal trainer I have ran the numbers (mainly out of curiosity) on many of my clients just to get an idea of what 'can' be considered acceptable/healthy weight in pounds to height in inches ratio and these are the numbers I've come up with:

For women, 2.35lbs per inch in height

For men, 2.85lbs per inch in height

So, take your height in inches and multiply that by 2.35 to determine if you are within (i. e; below 2.35lbs/inch) the acceptable range. You could also divide your bodyweight by your height in inches. If you exceed the ranges I have provided then by most standards you would be considered unhealthy/overweight.

These are absolute maximums and are based on individuals who both exercise routinely and whose diets are considered to be healthy and well balanced. Of course, there are ALWAYS exceptions to this formula i. e; extreme athletes such as bodybuilders and powerlifters.

Finally, I am not a medical professional and make no such claims. The advice given here is purely recreational and is not intended to treat or cure any diseases or conditions.

2|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 12

• Well you're slightly shorter than me, and you're my weight, but I have a fat stomach but you can barely tell if I'm wearing a XL or XXL shirt.
    But girls have more fat than guys naturally. But fat weighs less.

So yes I'd assume you're kinda fat looking.

0|0
    0|0
  • I had a girlfriend who was exactly that. 16, 5'7"ish and 190ish. I was happy. She had a great face, was a nice girl, and loved me. We were together over 2 years and I was stupid and dumped her.

0|0
    0|0