Self perception versus reality?

I'm having trouble figuring out how much of my self perception is in my head versus how people actually perceive me. I have a tendency to waver between self confidence and thinking I look disgusting and am a terrible person. I guess to describe myself- I'm a quirky guy but do well in school. Can come off cold because I'm sarcastic, but people have said I'm warm when they get to know me. Physically, I'm 5'3" at 21. I started lifting in high school because I was bullied and ultimately got mugged by classmates. Now weigh 133 and have a 6 pack. Brunette hair, straight nose, bright green eyes with long lashes. Part of me says I'm not that bad looking or a terrible person, but every time something bad happens I get down on myself and blame myself.

Last relationship I got out of was a bad one- a briefly dated a girl, never established firm grounds with where we stand, and kept on hanging out with her. She ultimately came in one night naked after getting out of the bathroom when I was hanging at her place and asked me to stay the night and get undressed. We didn't have sex because I felt awkward about the nature of our relationship. Afterwards when I asked her what she was doing because I wanted to finally figure out was going on, she said she was never interested in me and would never sleep with me. One of her friends asked me out not too long after, and I broke it off shortly after because I didn't feel she was a good match. After this she started going around telling people how she could never date me because it was too awkward since I'm shorter than her.

Out of seven girls I formally dated (I'm a junior in college), 5 asked me out. Then there were a few girls who have told me to my face I was gross to look at and they would never touch me. Every time I think a girl might be interested this mindset comes into play.

Any ideas how I might overcome this or how accurately my perception of myself is?

0|0
0|2

What Girls Said 0