How do you feel about a pre-nup before marriage?

My friend asked a girl if she'd ever get a pre-nup and she got mad and never talked to him again. He asked me the same question and my answer is no. If I marry a guy, it's because I love him, trust him, and want to share everything with him for the rest of my life. A pre-nup to me is like a fail safe for the guy or girl if things don't go well and you end up getting a divorce. It's like already starting the marriage off on a "should all of this fail" footing and I'm against that. I guess couples these days go into planning what will happen if it fails, instead of making it work no matter what. That's why I feel like there is a higher divorce rate these days.

Anyways, what's your take on it? Would you ask your future husband or wife to get one? Do you think it's right or wrong?

For the record, I'm an engineer and I make decent money. If I was to marry a guy who made less than me financially, i would still trust him and have no fail safe. I believe that's how you make a marriage work - complete trust. It may sound like a bad idea to not have a back up plan, but is rather not have one that start my marriage with a "what if."

Updates:
Ah sorry about some typos - this dang autocorrect lol. Smart phones can be so dumb.. Who woulda thought? =P
Thanks for everyone's inputs. I guess I'm old fashioned and should wake up that people are not genuinely good these days or even if they are, they can change.

0|0
4|6

Most Helpful Guy

• Pre-nups aren't a good idea. That shows me that they anticipate that there may be problems down the line which they either can't or won't work through.

1|0
    1|0
    • Oh wow, do you remember me? We used to talk and you used to be on my friends list. For some reason, I think your name is Brian?

• Show All
    • Really? Masters in what? And that sucks.. I hope that it pays off for you.