The U. S. Supreme Court officially legalized same-sex marriage, what are your thoughts?

What do you think about the Supreme Court's decision? Do you agree or disagree? And why?

• I agree with the Supreme Court's decision
    66% (514)50% (361)58% (875)Vote
  • I disagree with the Supreme Court's decision
    17% (133)30% (217)23% (350)Vote
  • I am undecided/I am not sure how I feel
    10% (76)8% (60)9% (136)Vote
  • See results
    7% (56)12% (83)10% (139)Vote
And you are? I'm a GirlI'm a Guy

0|3
105|157

Most Helpful Guy

• I disagree with the Court's decision. As a lawyer, I think the Constitutional basis for the majority opinion (a bare majority of 5-4) was almost non-existent. To hold that the 14th Amendment (ratified in 1868) requires every state to issue marriage licenses to same sex couples is absurd. Justice Kennedy's opinion was based largely on emotion, not Constitutional reasoning. What you got was a bare majority of the Court (5 unelected judges) ordering the American people that marriage is now something different from what it's been for thousands of years. The proper ruling would have been to defer to the states to decide this issue for themselves, but the Court took that away from the American people. Even those who are advocates for same-sex marriage should be troubled by the lawlessness of the Court's decision today. Because when the Court doesn't base its rulings on the Constitution it has entered truly dangerous territory.

10|14
    9|3