I'm in the Wedding Party and I'm not allowed a plus one/guest?

My best friend, Brian, is getting married in late October. We've known each other for 12 years. I'm a groomsmen in his wedding. His brother is his best man.

Brian and I now live 3-4 hours away so we only see each other a few times a year. Him and his fiancee (Jill), have only met my girlfriend, Kelly, 2 times. Both times were great, but limited because of the distance. I've been with Kelly for a little over a year.

I recently received an invitation to Brian's wedding. It did not mention anything about a guest. When I asked Brian and Jill they said I was not allowed a plus one. I didn't respond to his text and we haven't spoken since.

To make matters worse, I designed their wedding invitations. I am a professional graphic designer at a firm in the city. I designed this free of charge. I told them I would happily do it for free for them. Since this is my full-time job, I rarely, if ever, do free work.

I am confused and hurt. I'd like to say something to Brian and Jill, but I am lost. Am I wrong for feeling this way? What should I do? thanks in advance.

0|0
3|1

Most Helpful Girl

• I can understand where you are coming from and as a good friend you are (doing the invitations for them for free and all) you'd like to bring your girlfriend I assume. The thing is weddings can be hella expensive so I guess if everyone brought a plus one, it would make food expenses and drink expenses more expensive for them.
    Just ask them. I'm sure it wouldn't hurt. They probably forget that you had Kelly (as they have only seen her twice?) Or just limited on the number of people that can attend to the wedding. All in all, you feeling confused/hurt is understandable

0|0
    0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• Well, that depends.

From their perspective, they probably want you and only YOU at the wedding. They want you to participate and be in the wedding pictures... etc.