He "doesn't believe in marriage"...or just not with ME?

Myex boyfriend and I had been together for a little more than 2years. A year into our relationship, he transferred universities and moved 5 hours away. We knew we wanted to continue the relationship. And things were great.

When I graduated from school about 6 months ago, I started discussing marriage. He went to school late, so he has two semesters left. He says he's not ready to discuss marriage yet - and can't think that far ahead because he needs to focus on school. And he's not able to provide for me now, so until that time comes - then he's not ready. IN the meantime, he wanted to stay together because he loves me and can see himself with me - just not sure what the future will hold.

It became a recurring topic of conversation until we finally agreed on a mutual breakup - so we could determine if "us" is what we really wanted. I didn't want to stay in something if he couldn't tell me that he at least considered the possibility of getting married...to me or to anyone at all.

We've gone the last 3 months without talking and all of a sudden, we started talking again. We hung out once and he says he wants to give it a try again.

Did he have a change of heart - should I wait? Or is he not ready to think about marriage, because he just doesn't see himself marrying ME?

0|0

Most Helpful Girl

• At this point, marriage is the last thing on his mind. It doesn't mean he doesn't love you, and doesn't want to be with you. It just means he is not ready to include marriage in his plans. Don't take it personally. He has a lot on his mind right now. College, Grades, Homework, Exams, what will he do after he graduates, etc. If he is not ready to talk about marriage, then he's not ready.

If you keep bugging him about it, and bringing it up, it will push him away.

You are sure of two things right now: He loves you, and he wants to be with you. Isnt't that enough for now?