Why do guys propose (offer marriage) to girls?

My best friend is an attorney. He makes over $380,000 a year. My girlfriend is an administrative assistant. She makes about $38,000 a year. I'm a licensed architect and civil engineer. I make about $94,000 a year.

Offering marriage to someone is, all soft and mushy fluffy stuff aside, a business proposal. Otherwise, nobody is stopping you from just staying together for the rest of your lives and in love. It's a legal entitlement to a portion of our income and assets. Over the long-run, the person who earns more has more to lose, and the person who earns less has more to gain. As a joke, I grabbed by friend and asked him to get married. He laughed in my face, and then told me that it's not "worth" getting married to me, because I would make out like a bandit at the end of the day.

I'm never getting married, but I'm wondering, of the guys who do get married or haven't excluded marriage as a possibility in the future, what's the reason you propose or offer marriage to a girl?

• I'm religious
    22% (2)0% (0)11% (2)Vote
  • Traditionally, that's what people just do
    22% (2)22% (2)22% (4)Vote
  • I'm afraid if I don't, she'll leave me
    11% (1)0% (0)6% (1)Vote
  • Because it's something she really wants
    22% (2)22% (2)22% (4)Vote
  • Because it's something I really want
    23% (2)56% (5)39% (7)Vote
And you are? I'm a GirlI'm a Guy

0|0
4|7

Most Helpful Girl