To stay or not to stay? Help!?

My boyfriend and I will be celebrating our 3 year anniversary 04/02/2014. He's 25 years old and works in the Air Force. I'm a 24 college graduate. We moved in together to a nearby state 20 months after dating. I left my friends and independence to move in with him for the hopes of rekindling our relationship since we had been apart early-on due to deployment.
Beginning months of us cohabiting was rough. A few months had passed things got better and finally now one year into living together we are great bond and love each other's company. Only downfall is as an individual I am not really satisfied with what has become of my career plans and goals since moving to this new city. Jobs in my field are far and few between in this city. And because of this I have really been stressing the thought of leaving to pursue my goals or having my boyfriend propose to me so then I could plan my life accordingly as a military spouse. I'm just having a difficult time coping with being a live-in "rent-a-pretend wife" who has delayed career plans for a boyfriend not spouse. I would feel much more secure being married because so I'd know that my sacrifices were not in vein and I wouldn't have to worry about he can break-up with me at a drop of a dime scenario like bf/gf couples could.