Guys, Would you consider a girl going into the automotive field strange?

A guy I recently talked to said he felt that because I was a girl, it was weird I wanted to go into the automotive field. How do you guys feel about this?

0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• Not at all. In fact, most of the women I have found in auto parts stores knew the stock BETTER than the men. Not sure why. Maybe its because women have a better eye for detail or feel they have to prove themselves by trying harder.

Anyway, when I see a woman at an auto parts counter, I often default to her.

0|0
    0|0
    • I'm not even working at an autoparts store 😅 I'm a design engineer intern at General Motors.

• Ha! That 's interesting. And I bet you are getting some looks. I have a woman friend who is an electrical engineer in a huge company and every single one of her counterparts is a man..

What Guys Said 19

• No, I wouldn't. In fact, I wouldn't mind being in a relationship with a mechanic at all. I love my car, and she could keep it running in good shape.

0|0
    0|0
  • You do you, kid.

I think women in engineering and other male-dominated professions are awesome. For a great example, see Rosie the riveter.

0|0
    0|0
  • sexy n tomboyish ;)

0|0
    0|0
  • Sort of unusual. Most girls don't like cars. I would find it a bit unusual, but it's not a turn off or anything, no. I'm interested in cars, my dream car would be a Flying Car. Which do exist. As of 2012, they were in Prototype-Testing Phase. Some have Plane Parts, some have Helecoptor Parts.

0|0
    0|0
    • The game Perfect Dark is based in 2023 and has flying cars, the movie Back to the Future was dead-on, it was in part 2 that there were Flying Cars in 2015. It's almost happening now. Just wonder how the hell much they're gonna cost. At least 150G's or more.

• No that's pretty cool.
    Plus that field needs more gals.
    My buddy's going into diesel mechanics and he's so depressed that there are no girls in his class haha

0|0